--- title: "Account closures (voluntary and involuntary) | Helcim Learn" slug: "account-closure" description: "Learn about the process for voluntary account closure and what happens if an account is closed due to long-term inactivity. Find out how to get help." updated: 2025-06-13T02:35:06Z published: 2025-06-13T02:35:06Z canonical: "learn.helcim.com/account-closure" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://learn.helcim.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Close your Helcim account We understand that business needs change, and there may come a time when you need to close your Helcim account. This guide explains the process for closing your account voluntarily and what happens if an account is closed automatically due to inactivity. In either situation, the first step is to get in touch with our support team, who are ready to help. --- **In this article** - [Closing your account voluntarily](/v1/docs/account-closure#closing-your-account-voluntarily) - [Account closure due to inactivity](/v1/docs/account-closure#account-closure-due-to-inactivity) - [Next steps](/v1/docs/account-closure#next-steps) - [FAQs](/v1/docs/account-closure#faqs) --- ## Closing your account voluntarily --- If you have decided to close your Helcim account, please [reach out to our support team](/v1/docs/creating-a-support-ticket). They will guide you through the final steps. It's important to know that once an account is voluntarily closed, it cannot be reopened. If you decide to use Helcim again in the future, you will need to complete the signup process to create a new Helcim account. ## Account closure due to inactivity --- For security purposes, a Helcim account may be automatically closed if it has not been used to process any payments for a period of **12 months**. Unlike a voluntary closure, an account that has been closed due to inactivity can often be reopened. | ![](https://cdn.document360.io/4e721329-1a9d-4ef0-8d2f-497e0c1f185a/Images/Documentation/chat.png) | AIf you find your account has been closed and you'd like to resume taking payments, please [contact our support team](/v1/docs/creating-a-support-ticket). They can work with our Trust and Safety team to restore your account access. | | --- | --- | ## Next steps --- [Contact our support team](/v1/docs/creating-a-support-ticket) to discuss your account closure. ## --- ### FAQs **What's the difference between my Helcim account being closed and my user profile being disabled?** These are two very different things. A **disabled user profile** typically happens after 90 days of login inactivity and can be quickly fixed by contacting support; your Helcim account itself remains active. An **account closure** is the deactivation of your entire business account, which happens either voluntarily or after 12 months of no payment activity. **If I close my account, can I get my information back later?** If you voluntarily close your account, you will not be able to reopen it and will need to [sign up again](/v1/docs/how-to-sign-up-with-helcim). If your account was closed due to inactivity, it can usually be reopened by contacting support.